16 Great Things in 2015

img_2585

I feel like I do this at least once a year.

I do sooo good at writing on my blog for a while. I write at least once a week. I talk about how great things are and how I am doing but then I get busy and it gets pushed off for all of the other things that I need to do first. Since my blog is currently only a hobby, it is hard for me to justify doing this before homework.

So now that the year is already halfway over, for those that use my blog to keep up with me. Here is my update on how my life is and the things that I have done in the last 7 months.

1. I have spent a great amount of time with my family. My brother and I either love each other or want to kill each other, it really depends on the second.

2. I have started a fantastic job working full time for the military. (This was actually in October, but for those that missed it.) I work as a supply technician for the mechanic shop ordering supplies and parts. I could not ask for a better professional opportunity at 20 years old.

3. I said “See you later” to one of my very best military friends as she started her adventure with her unit. Luckily we got to spend a ton of time together before she left and we are already planning great adventures for when she gets back.

4.   Kevin and I have gone on some great “dates” while enjoying not being in relationships. This year so far has been about me really focusing on being who I am and who I want to be. I have been loving it so far.

5. Me and Mickey spend a great amount of time cuddling when I go home. I am really looking forward to getting a place where I can have my own pets, but for now I am happy just going home to see her.

6. I have really enjoyed crossing some things off of my bucket list. I spent an evening at the lake and got to watch the sunset from the boat, which is one of the most beautiful ways to end an evening.

7. I got to travel to Tacoma, Washington with the military and we got to spend an evening in town seeing the sites. I made some great friends and some great memories and crossed another state off my bucket list!

The weather kind of sucked while we were there, but I have to say that the sites were absolutely beautiful.

8. One of my greatest childhood friends and I enjoyed a weekend at Mall Of America together after deciding that adult life can wear you out pretty quick. We celebrated her wedding, both of us having great, full time jobs and our friendship. This was definitely a weekend to remember.

9. I moved into my own apartment (With NO Roommates!!) in February and everything was going smooth. As the flooding occurred during the early summer months, I found out that the kitchen window does not seal very well. So I was up til midnight with the storms and the rain and a bucket of water trying to mop up my kitchen floor with the 5 towels that I own and the $1 mop from Dollar Tree.

10. GUYS! My cousin graduated high school. Brittany and I were soooo close our first couple years of high school. Then I joined the military and we both got crazy busy, but I remember the early, or what seemed early, morning drives to school. The after school food runs and the trips to Lincoln or even Grand Island.

11. I got ran over my a cow.

I wish I were kidding, but that awesome bruise is actually from a gate hitting me after the cow hit the gate.

For a few days, I joked that I joined the military because it was safer than being the farm help. Not really, but the military hasn’t given me bruises like these.

  

12. I got to go on a family vacation with my parents for the first time in years. We went to South Dakota and we had a blast. There were so many great memories and adventures.

13. I have been spending a ton of time with my family lately. I find myself saying “That sounds like something Grandpa would do.” or “Grandpa would never…” Every time I say it, I miss him a little more. Some days, it really hits me and others, I am just fine. This man was one of the really great male role models that I have had in my life (aside from my dad)

14. One of my best friends got married and I was so blessed that I got to be apart of their very special day.  It was a blast to dance the night away with the girls too.

15.  My mom and I matched and she took a selfie with me! Just so every one knows, I have some of the greatest parents ever! Also, I see more and more things that I get from my mother every single day as I develop into a professional, young woman (including my love to write).

IMG_2585

16. And to bring you up to just this weekend, I spent a wonderful 4th of July weekend doing a ton of fun stuff including the Fairbury Swap Meet, laying at the lake, watching the Dewitt parade, outhouse races, and fireworks.

As I look through the year, I realize how truly blessed I have been with friends and family that have been there with me to make some great memories. As I get older I really realize how wonderful the opportunities that I have been blessed with. My dad always tells me that he is jealous of some of the stuff I get to do, but I don’t blame him. I have had some of the coolest opportunities in the last few years and I can’t wait to see where they lead to next!

My goal is to start writing more and to actually make my blog into a part time job, so if you have any blog post ideas for me, PLEASE, Please share them!

2 thoughts on “16 Great Things in 2015

Leave a comment