The Blog and Its Adventures

LogoI have to say that this blog has given me some great moments, but it has also been a royal pain.  Last night I spent almost 4 hours trying to create a professional blog, where I owned my own domain and could set it up the way I wanted it. I spent 20 on the phone with customer service and in the end I ended up canceling anyway.

After this adventure I started looking at my stats for this blog.

One word. Depressing.

I have been writing for about two years now, a little more I think. I have poured hours into trying to update things and edit things to make them great. I would LOVE to earn a little extra money on my blog.

I have read blog after blog after blog about how to earn money and how to create a great blog that other people will want to read. I have read every blog post I can find to create a great blog, but yet my average post is still only getting 15-20 views. I can easily list at least 4 of those people. (Hi Mom, Dad, Aunt Lisa, and Grandma Ida) You 4 have been my support and I am pretty sure that you all have read almost every single blog post. You have commented and participated in random things that I have tried.

Obviously, I am not going to quit my day job to become a blogger and pour 7-8 hours a day into my blog, but my goal was to earn $20 bucks off my blog, just to show that I could, but in the current format, I can’t earn anything because of the way it is set up.

I switched from Blogger to WordPress because it was supposed to be better, but I wish I wouldn’t have because I went from earning 2 cents a post to earning nothing.

Now, my love of writing isn’t based on money. I love to write and get feedback, but I have hit a point where I am frustrated because I feel like no one is reading my posts, no matter how hard I am working towards them.

This post is really just a rant and perhaps a request, if anyone has comments or ideas for me to do something with it. I would love to hear them.

Thank you for those who have continuously supported me.

One thought on “The Blog and Its Adventures

  1. Advertising is key! Have you tried to advertise it on twitter? I didn’t notice a twitter feed. Just a thought. 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment