Holiday Traditions

I can’t even explain how excited I am for Christmas. I have always had such a deep/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/7e5/81573991/files/2014/12/img_1567.jpg love for the holidays, but mostly because I absolutely love the holiday traditions with my family. They seem pretty simple, but I know I am spoiled with it.

Ever year on Christmas Eve, we go out to my grandma’s house for supper and presents. My grandma usually makes a huge meal (for any event) and we eat, talk, and then slowly move in to the living room. It wasn’t a holiday until Michael and I fought over who was going to sit at the head of the table. Neither of us liked it, because your back is to the cabinets. Every year, it was always the kids who got to sort the presents and since Mike and I were the only kids, we would always sort the gifts. We would take turns opening and the kids would play with their toys, while everyone else continued to talk.

Then we would drive home and settle into bed, preparing for the next morning. Christmas morning always came early. I remember being little and waking up a few times and forcing myself to go back to sleep before going to wake my parents up. Normally, I would sort the presents and then go wake them up. One year I tried to start dad’s coffee before I woke them, but I couldn’t figure out the coffee maker. That year they got about 10 minutes of extra sleep. Mom or Dad would put cinnamon rolls in the oven,and we would open presents.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/7e5/81573991/files/2014/12/img_1566.jpgWe typically spend Christmas day at Grandma Cindy’s again. Then enjoy a quiet evening at home.

The next few days are not always set traditions but we normally watch movies, lay around the house in our pajamas, and eat left overs. Somewhere in there we normally have lunch with Dad’s side of the family, but this has always been something that we have worked out based on the year and everyone’s schedule.

I love the feeling of the holidays. Driving back into town from the farm at 9:30 P.M. on Christmas Eve has always been my favorite. The town is lit up, the stores are closed and the streets are quiet. To me, this is what makes my Christmas.

This year’s holidays were no different. The traditions were done and now we sit, enjoying our time together in the living room. Curled up under our blankets watching TV.

I would love to hear! What are your favorite family traditions? 

Leave a comment